MLA Awards to Mayo Librarians

April 28, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Two Mayo Clinic librarians will receive awards at the Annual Meeting & Exhibition of the Medical Library Association on Monday, May 16, 2011 in Minneapolis.

Kay E. Wellik, Director of Library Services on the Arizona campus, will receive the Virginia L. and William K. Beatty MLA Volunteer Service Award. The Award was established in 2007 and recognizes a medical librarian who has demonstrated outstanding, sustained service to the Medical Library Association and the health sciences library profession. The nominee must be an “unsung hero” of MLA and have not served in an elected national leadership postion or received a national MLA award prior to or at the time of the nomination.

J. Michael Homan, Director of Libraries, will receive the Carla J. Funk Governmental Relations Award. This Award was established in 2008 and  recognizes a medical librarian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the area of governmental relations at the federal, state, or local level, and who has furthered the goal of providing quality information for improved health.

Entry filed under: News Bytes.

New Guides Available: Learn about Patient Safety and Effective Database Searching Changes to EndNote with Version X4

%d bloggers like this: