Eau Claire Library Receives Historical Artifacts
The Mayo Clinic Library in Eau Claire recently received several important historical artifacts to be put on display. These artifacts include framed pictures of two buildings there were early locations of the Midelfart Clinic. The clinic, founded in 1927 by Dr. Hans Christian Midelfart, later joined with Luther Hospital and became part of the Mayo Clinic Health System.
Another artifact on display in the library is the original articles of incorporation for Luther Hospital. This document, signed by the Secretary of State of Wisconsin, shows that the hospital was incorporated on May 11th, 1905. Fundraising and construction of the original hospital were completed in just three years, and the hospital officially opened its doors on August 30th, 1908.
The library also received two letters from Dr. William J Mayo, addressed to Dr. Midelfart. These letters show an early connection between Eau Claire and the Mayo Clinic, though it would be many years before the connection was made official.
The library staff are excited to have these artifacts on display and to share some of the rich history of the hospital and clinic in Eau Claire with our patrons. The library also has a large collection of historical photos and memorabilia.