Author Archive

Welcome to Lisa A. Marks

Liblog 50 - Lisa MarksMayo Clinic Libraries welcomes Lisa Marks to Mayo Clinic Arizona. Lisa joined the Mayo Clinic Libraries team on February 3, 2014 as Arizona Director of Libraries. (more…)

April 30, 2014 at 11:43 am

Mayo/KI Systematic Review Meeting

Mayo Clinic research librarians involved in systematic reviews (SR) joined 3 research librarians from the Karolinska Institutet for a two-day meeting on November 11-12, 2013 at the Plummer Library in Rochester. (more…)

January 30, 2014 at 3:08 pm 1 comment

“E-Patient Dave” Kicks off Rochester Conference

Internationally known participatory medicine advocate Dave deBronkart, Jr. or “E-Patient Dave” as he is widely known, was the keynote speaker on October 7, 2012 at the Midwest Chapter/Medical Library Association Annual Meeting entitled “Growing Opportunities” held at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester on October 6-9, 2012. (more…)

October 30, 2012 at 4:13 pm

October is National Medical Librarians Month

October is National Medical Librarians Month. It is celebrated every year with a specially designed poster to highlight the professional contributions of medical librarians to the success of the institutions they serve. (more…)

October 30, 2012 at 4:08 pm

A Salute to Minitex on its 40th Anniversary

Mayo Clinic Libraries and by extension Mayo library users are deeply indebted to a service of the University of Minnesota called Minitex. Minitex began as a pilot project of the University of Minnesota libraries in 1969 with a mission to share university resources with the state. (more…)

January 30, 2012 at 1:14 pm

MLA Awards to Mayo Librarians

Two Mayo Clinic librarians will receive awards at the Annual Meeting & Exhibition of the Medical Library Association on Monday, May 16, 2011 in Minneapolis.

Kay E. Wellik, Director of Library Services on the Arizona campus, will receive the Virginia L. and William K. Beatty MLA Volunteer Service Award. The Award was established in 2007 and recognizes a medical librarian who has demonstrated outstanding, sustained service to the Medical Library Association and the health sciences library profession. The nominee must be an “unsung hero” of MLA and have not served in an elected national leadership postion or received a national MLA award prior to or at the time of the nomination.

J. Michael Homan, Director of Libraries, will receive the Carla J. Funk Governmental Relations Award. This Award was established in 2008 and  recognizes a medical librarian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the area of governmental relations at the federal, state, or local level, and who has furthered the goal of providing quality information for improved health.

April 28, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Changing the Face of Medicine

Two Mayo physicians, Dr. Judith Kaur and Dr. Patricia Simmons,  were featured speakers in an opening reception special program originating from Mayo Memorial Auditorium on the campus of the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities and broadcast to Mayo Clinic and the University of Minnesta, Duluth as a part of a special celebration entitled “Changing the Face of Medicine; Celebrating America’s Women Physicians” (see: The special celebration which included an exhibit from the National Library of Medicine and a play about Elizabeth Blackwell was sponsored by the Health Sciences Libraries of the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.

February 10, 2011 at 3:08 pm

“Getting Better…Together”: 2009 Library All Sites Retreat

2009 All Sites Planning Committee

2009 All Sites Planning Committee

The annual Mayo Library System all sites retreat, “Getting Better…Together” was held in the Plummer Library in Rochester, Minnesota from September 21-23, 2009. (more…)

October 13, 2009 at 4:11 pm

National Medical Librarians Month

NNLMThe Medical Library Association has designated October as the month each year to celebrate the contributions of medical librarians  (more…)

October 13, 2009 at 4:10 pm